Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Mini Frittata

Eggs are something that I love; they’re delicious and for me at least, very filling when starting a morning. However, sometimes boredom creeps in when sticking to the same omelette/toad-in-the-hole/poached egg w/ veggies routine. And so this morning I craved something different. Thus the frittata. This frittata uses what was in the fridge and would go well with the baked egg goodness: onions, mushrooms, and broccoli. Next time tomatoes would be great as well as some cheese, but there was none of either in the fridge this morning. This made two small frittatas, baked in ramekins at 350F for… I don’t know. I started with 15 minutes, but the egg hadn’t set, so I kept adding time until it was set.

Ingredients (Makes 2)

– chopped onion (how much, I don’t know. maybe 1/2 a small onion?)

– chopped broccoli (about half a cup)

– 3 chopped button mushrooms (next time I’ll add more, as I really like mushrooms)

– 2 eggs

– 1 TB greek yogurt

– 1/8 cup milk (probably use less next time)

– about 1TB whole wheat flour

– dried sage and rosemary

– black pepper and salt

Instructions

1) Preheat oven to 350F

2) Saute the onions, broccoli and mushrooms on medium high

3) Whisk together the eggs, yogurt, milk, flour and seasonings

4) Add the sauteed vegetables to the egg mixture, and pour into the ramekins

5) Bake at 350F until the eggs are set (this will be at least 15 minutes, but took longer for mine)

