Tags

, , ,

Lately all I’ve been craving is soup and soda bread, so I’ve been playing around with different soups and different combinations of flours in my soda bread. I’ve also found that I cannot eat an entire loaf of homemade bread before it starts to turn, so the other day I bought mini loaf pans, and am now playing around with those. Tonight: split pea soup and pumpernickel oat soda bread.

Split Pea Soup

– 2 peeled carrots, cut in rounds

– 1 onion, finely chopped

– 3 celery stalks, chopped

– 6 cloves garlic

– 2 white potatoes, peeled and diced (next time I’ll use sweet potatoes, as I think that extra bit of sweetness would just take this up a notch. The white potatoes were still yummy, but I was craving something with that hint of sweetness)

– 2 cups (?) split peas (I didn’t actually measure, just kind of put in an amount that looked good and balanced to my eye)

– Lots of veggie broth! (Again, I didn’t measure. I’m using vegetable stock that I pre-made and froze in ice cube trays. I kept adding until it looked “right”. I had to add more later, but that’s ok!)

– Seasoning: black pepper, celery salt, oregano, parsley

– 1-2 TB olive oil

Instructions:

1) Peel, chop, dice all the veggies. In a stock-pot, heat the olive oil on medium low heat, and add the onions, garlic, carrots, and celery. Sweat for ~ 15 minutes. (Keep it on a very low heat)

2) Add vegetable stock, potatoes and split peas. Add seasoning. Bring to a boil. Then lower the heat and allow to simmer until the split peas are tender. Approximately 1 hour.

3) Enjoy!

Soda Bread (makes 1 mini loaf)

– 1 cup whole wheat flour

– 1/2 cup pumpernickel flour

– 1/2 cup oats

– 1 TB brown sugar

– 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

– 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

– 1 egg

– 1 cup milk

Instructions

1) Preheat oven to 325F, and spray mini loaf pan with cooking spray or coat with oil.

2) Combine flours, oats, sugar, baking soda and powder powder. Stir in the egg and the milk. You may need to add more flour or more milk. The dough should be slightly wet and sticky.

3) Pour dough into the mini loaf pan (It should be almost full)

4) Bake at 325F for approximately 35-45 minutes.

5) Remove from oven and let cool for a few minutes before removing from the loaf pan.

6) Enjoy!

