Tags

, , , , , , ,

Back in Korea there was a restaurant that everyone in the expat community called “The Buddhist Restaurant.” Now, this was not its name, and I don’t know if it was actually Buddhist or not, though many of the dishes were temple inspired. At this restaurant there was a side dish that me and one of my friends went nuts over. It was a sesame tofu steak.

Tonight I attempted to recreate this tofu steak. It was delicious, but not quite the same as the steak from the restaurant.  As a side, I also sauteed green beans, mushrooms and onions, which has become one of my favorite simple yet tasty sides. There’s only one of me, so I obviously didn’t eat the whole tofu block, and did not use all of the sauce. For me I had two 1/2ish inch slices of tofu, and have plenty of sauce for other dishes.

Learning how to cook, and to love and enjoy the ingredients in food has been one of the most rewarding, fun, and wonderful things in my life. I realize that I haven’t been writing about and posting regularly. In the spaces between posts, I have been cooking, playing with food (it’s so fun, seeing as how Mom always told me not to!), having a great time and becoming healthier.

And now to the recipe, with the tweaks that I would make next time.

Sesame Tofu Steak: tofu 2

Block firm Tofu (non-GMO and organic)

flour for dusting

salt

pepper

Sauce:

3 TB low sodium soy sauce (Next time I’ll use less as I really want the sesame flavor to pop through)

1 TB sesame oil (use more next time!)

1 TB minced garlic

1 TB sesame seeds (I had none on hand, but these are a wonderful addition)

3/4 minced green chili pepper (next time I’ll less. The chili pepper wasn’t overwhelming, but the tofu steak at the restaurant had a much subtler heat)

paprika (I couldn’t find my chili powder, so used this instead. Chili powder, red pepper flakes, or paprika would all work well)

lime juice (from 1 slice)

Directions:

1: Place the tofu between two (paper) towels, and place something heavy on it to drain the excess water. This should take about 30 minutes.

2: While the tofu is draining, combine the soy sauce, sesame oil, minced garlic, sesame seeds, minced green chili pepper, paprika and lime juice.

3: Slice the tofu into 1/2ish inch pieces (these can be thicker or thinner depending on your preference).

4: Season one side of the tofu block with salt and pepper.

5: Dust all sides with flour and shake off the excess.

6: Cook the tofu steaks in a pan with a bit of olive oil on medium high heat until both sides are golden brown.

7: Drizzle the sauce onto the tofu steaks and enjoy!

tofu steak

