Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s cold today! And when it’s cold there are only a few things that I want to do: bury myself under blankets with either a book or knitting, or eat hot and comforting food. Today I chose the food, specifically cookies. Being in the warm kitchen has even helped to melt the chill from my skin.

Pumpkin has to be one of my new favorite foods, and I can’t believe that this is the first year I’ve ever eaten it. I’ve made the pumpkin soup a few times since posting the recipe, changing it slightly each time and never been disappointed but rather immensely satisfied. Today I decided to try pumpkin in something other than soup and was craving chocolate as well, so cookies seemed the best choice. Originally, I’d also planned on using cinnamon chips in addition to the chocolate chips, but none were to be found at the store. I don’t think the cinnamon chips would have added anything to the cookies, so it’s a good thing the store didn’t have any.

And onto the cookies! I think these are my new favorite cookie, and that’s saying a lot as I’m a huge cookie enthusiast.

Ingredients

1 cup softened coconut oil

¾ cup honey

¼ cup molasses

2 eggs

2 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract

1 ¼ cup roasted pumpkin

1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

1 ½ cups oat flour (to make, put oats in a blender or a food processor until a fine flour forms)

2 ½ teaspoons baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon

¾ teaspoon ground ginger

¾ teaspoon ground cloves

2 cups chocolate chips

Directions

  1. The pumpkin should be roasted before using in the cookie dough.  This takes about 35-40 minutes for a small pumpkin. This is an excellent video that explains how to roast the pumpkin: Roasting a Pumpkin
  2. Preheat the oven to 325F.
  3. Once the pumpkin has been roasted and peeled, place it into a mixing bowl and beat with an electric mixer until it’s smooth and creamy. You could also use a food processor or blender, though I found that the blender didn’t do a very good job, and the electric hand mixer was much faster with a nicer consistency.
  4. In a separate bowl, beat the coconut oil with a hand mixer until it’s smooth. Make sure there are no small lumps, as these won’t come out in mixing later.
  5. Beat the eggs, vanilla and pumpkin puree into the coconut oil until smooth.
  6. In a separate bowl, sift together the whole wheat flour, oat flour, baking soda, salt, ground cinnamon, ground ginger, and ground cloves.
  7. Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet batter. I did this in three batches, adding flour, mixing well, then adding flour again and mixing.
  8. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  9. Place the cookie dough in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes.
  10. Scoop the cookie dough in tablespoons onto a cookie sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes or until the cookies are browned at the edges. These are a darker cookie, so it can be a bit difficult to tell when they’ve browned enough. I poked the cookie to test for doneness: soft, but not too wet or squishy.
  11. Remove the cookies from the oven. Let them sit on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before removing with a spatula and letting them cool on wire racks. Let them rest on the cookie sheets so that the cookies don’t lose their bottoms when you try taking them off.

Tip: I place the cookie dough in the refrigerator before baking and between batches to keep it a little bit firmer. I’ve found that this helps the cookies keep their round shape, instead of flattening out as they bake.

Enjoy!

