Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It’s early Sunday evening and the rain is streaming from the sky. I have just finished taping up the windows in anticipation of the second typhoon in as many weeks; Boleven blew out five of the windows in the sunroom and Samba is predicted to be much worse. So far it’s only rain, and not the heavy, pounding, screaming Banshee-esque winds of before. The rain brings cold; for some reason, while growing up, I always thought that typhoons and hurricanes would be hot, or at least warm. Maybe because they happen in tropical and subtropical locales. But the few I’ve been through in Jeju have always dragged in the cold. And so here I am, wrapped in a blanket, sipping cocoa, my knitting (making a hoodie) waiting on the desk until this post is finished. And the smell of carrot muffins is filling the apartment. For now, I am cozy, hoping the blasting winds do not pick up too much speed or gust too ferociously.

But back to the carrot muffins. They smell delicious and wonderful, and the anticipatory smells are always one of my favorite parts of cooking and baking. I love muffins. They’re small and delicious. They can be easily refrigerated to grab on those mornings when I don’t even want to make a smoothie because the thought of cleaning the blender is too much, and they are easily frozen and unthawed to last longer. These carrot muffins have been one of my favorites all summer: as part of breakfasts, snacks, or before or after a workout for extra energy. They are not a very sweet muffin, having just some honey for added sweetness, and relying on the inherent sweetness of the carrots, and the spices of ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg for added flavor. The oat flour gives some more fiber and protein so that you stay full longer, and I like the texture the whole oats give. They even passed the test of one of my friends who has a notorious sweet-tooth; a few weeks ago I’d made up a batch and took them with us on our waterfall excursion. He declared them tasty and like a less-sweet carrot cake. And when he thought my attention was elsewhere, snuck another. Hurray!

And here you go; my carrot muffin recipe.

Ingredients

Dry: ½ cup oat flour (Easy to make: measure out a half cup of oats and put in a blender or food processor until you have fine flour)

1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

1 cup oats

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

2 TB cinnamon (I like a lot of cinnamon in my baked goods. You can reduce this amount)

2 ½ tsp nutmeg

2 tsp freshly ground or shredded ginger root

Wet: ¼ cup honey

3 TB canola oil

2 tsp vanilla extract

3 eggs

3 cups grated carrots

  1. Preheat oven to 160C and either grease muffin tins or line with paper muffin cups.
  2. Mix all of the dry ingredients together in one bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients.
  4. Combine the wet and the dry ingredients. Stir until just combined; be careful about over-stirring/over-mixing the batter. If you do, the muffins can turn out too heavy. This is a wet muffin batter; when I experimented with a drier batter, the final muffins weren’t as moist.
  5. Fill the muffin tins about ¾ full with batter.
  6. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick, fork, skewer, or other pointy thing inserted into one of the muffins comes out clean. (You might want to check the muffins before the 25 minute mark. My toaster oven isn’t always consistent on cooking times.)

Enjoy!

